The Chillicothe High School Student Council ended its year as MASC Northwest District President by hosting the annual fall district meeting Friday at Chillicothe High School. More than 1,100 council members and their advisors from 32 schools attended.

Brice Griffin, Chillicothe High School Student Council president, called the meeting to order. The national anthem was sung by the CHS Choraliers, followed by a welcome to the assembled delegation from CHS Principal Brian Sherrow and greetings from MASC Executive Director Terri Johnson. The CHS Dance Team provided entertainment.

Providing the keynote address was Aaron Davis, a noted authority on peak performance and championship teamwork. While in college at the University of Nebraska, Davis was a member of the 1994 National Championship football team. After his address, delegates attended workshops created and presented by fellow delegates.

"It was great day," said President Griffin, also a CHS senior. "The speaker was amazing and I think the delegates got a whole lot out of it. We emphasize leadership skills and qualities, and it is our intention that the delegates will take what they learned from their day back to their home schools, and make their schools a safe place and a place where students want to be."

During lunch, served by Hy-Vee, delegates enjoyed a dance in the gym with music provided by TKO DJs, of St. Louis, while the advisors attended their annual fall business meeting.

Johnson Young and Madison Williams took the stage and presented a message about Special Olympic athletes, in an effort to encourage MASC NW District councils to participate in the fundraising for and the events of SOMO, which has been MASC's charity of choice for many years.
Elected as officers for 2012-2013 were President Park Hill South High School, 1st Vice President Trenton High School, 2nd Vice President Savannah Middle School, and Secretary Platte County High School.

The meeting concluded with the traditional duck dance, the duck being the mascot of MASC.

More than 80 members of CHS Student Council helped in the preparations for the district meeting and throughout the day, along with assistance from CHS Principal Brian Sherrow and custodians Johnnie McLean, Cecil Samm, and Richard King. Jeanne Lair is the CHS Student Council advisor.

Committees and chairpersons for the event: Overall chair, Brice Griffin; greeters, Wade Dietz and Lexis Snyder; check-in, Katie Milanovich; name tags and morning snack, Carley Anderson; announcements, Madison Williams and DJ Gannan; advisor hospitality, Hannah Boon and Erynn Skoglund; bus driver hospitality, Emma Griffin and Sarah Rapp; skit and entertainment, Chelsea Price and Erin Gilliland; speaker host, Trent Moore; workshops, Bridgett Kieffer; workshop presenters, Caleb Hearon, Sara Frampton, Brice Griffin, and Hannah Leamer; advisor lunch, Hannah Thieme and Abbey Brinkley; delegate lunch, Maggie Graves and Paige Peters; Special Olympics presentation, Johnson Young and Madison Williams; decorations, Madi Critten; departure treat, Chase Reeter; stage and clean-up, Jimmy Chapman; courtesy, Katie Lyon.

Schools from the district attending: Barry Middle, Bishop LeBlond High, Chillicothe High, Clinton County Middle, Excelsior Springs High, Kearney High, Lafayette High, Lathrop High, Lathrop Middle, Lexington High, Liberty High, Liberty Junior High, Liberty Middle, Liberty North High, Northland Christian High, Osborn High, Park Hill South, Platte County High, Plattsburg High, Savannah High, Savannah Middle, Smithville High, Smithville Middle, South Valley Junior High, South Valley Middle, Southwest High, Staley High, Stanberry High, Trenton High, Trenton Middle, West Platte High, and West Platte Junior High.