The following are Livingston County's results for Tuesday's 2012 General Election:

Incumbent Democrat Barack Obama faced a stark contrast to the eventual results of the national presidential election, receiving 1,906 votes (31.4 percent) in the county — trailing by a nearly two-to-one margin Republican candidate Mitt Romney, who received 4,006 votes (65.99 percent). Libertarian Gary Johnson received 127 votes (2.09 percent) and Constitution Party candidate Virgil Goode 15 (0.25 percent). There were 17 write-in candidates, which made up 0.28 percent of the county vote.

In the United States Senate election, Democrat incumbent and overall victor Claire McCaskill won 2,877 Livingston County votes (48.24 percent), compared to Republican Todd Akin's 2,592 (43.46 percent). Jonathan Dine, the Libertarian candidate, received 485 votes, or 8.13 percent. There were 10 write-ins (0.17 percent).

In the United States Sixth District Representative race, veteran incumbent Sam Graves, Republican, took in nearly three quarters of the votes cast in Livingston County (4,435, 74.53 percent). Little-known Democrat Kyle Yarber received 1,402 votes (23.56 percent) and Libertarian Russ Lee Monchil received 114 votes (1.92 percent).

The Governor's race saw Democrat incumbent Jay Nixon slightly edged by Republican challenger Dave Spence 2,922-2,906, with neither earning a majority of the county vote. Spence got 48.7 percent and Nixon 48.43 percent. Libertarian Jim Higgins siphoned off 169 votes (2.82 percent). There were three write-in votes. As with the presidential election, Nixon was reelected.

For Lieutenant Governor, Republican and overall winner (by four percent) Peter Kinder received 57.34 percent of the vote in Livingston County with 3,359 votes, compared to Democrat Susan Montee's 2,197 (37.5 percent). Libertarian Matthew Copple picked up 208 local votes (3.55 percent) and Cynthia Davis of the Constitution Party 93 (1.59 percent). There was one write-in.

Republican Shane Schoeller received 3,032 votes to lead the Secretary of State race in the county with 52.86 percent. Jason Kander, the Democratic candidate, received 2,488 votes (43.38 percent). Libertarian Cisse W. Spragins netted 149 votes (2.6 percent), while the Constitution Party's Justin Harter took home 63 votes, or 1.1 percent. Four write-in votes also were cast. Statewide, with only one precinct unreported, Democrat Kander had a very slender, but decisive, 33,000-votes lead.

For State Treasurer, Livingston County accorded its greatest support to Cole McNary, the Republican, by a margin of 2,981-2,479 (52.34-43.53 percent) over Democrat Clint Zweifel, the statewide victor. Sean O'Toole, the Libertarian Party candidate, received 4.09 percent of Livingston County's vote with 233 ballots cast in his name. There were two write-ins.

Although he lost statewide by 15 percent, Livingston County favored Republican Ed Martins for state Attorney General. Martins sneaked by Democrat Chris Koster in the immediate area, 2,824 (48.45 percent) to 2,777 (47.64 percent). Libertarian Dave Browning received 226 votes (3.88 percent) from the county electorate. Two write-ins rounded out the county balloting.

In state legislative elections, Republican David Pearce took in 66.06 percent of Livingston County's votes in the reconfigured 21st district state senator race, outpacing Democrat ElGene Ver Dught by a tally of 3,889 to 1,576 (27.58 percent). Libertarian Steven Hedrick received 246 votes, or 4.31 percent of those cast. There were three county write-ins in the election won, district-wide, by Pearce.

In the state house race affecting Livingston County, Mike Lair, the incumbent Republican from Chillicothe, received 3,721 votes (62.08 percent of the electorate) versus the 2,267 votes (37.82 percent) received by Chillicothean Harry Wyse, the Democrat. There were six write-in candidates in the race, in which Lair easily won election to the reshaped district which now includes portions of Linn and Grundy counties.

In the only contested local race, Democrat Sherry Parks kept her position as Livingston County Public Administrator, defeating Republican challenger Lisa Koenig via a 4,208 (71.94 percent) to 1,638 (28 percent) vote count. Three write-ins were cast.

Republican Tom Chapman retained his position as Circuit Judge for Circuit 43, Division 1, in an uncontested race, by receiving 99.1 percent of the vote (5,198). There were 47 write-ins (0.9 percent).

Democrat Brent Elliott got 4,613 votes (98.32 percent) in his own unopposed bid to retain the position of Circuit 43, Division 2 Judge. There were 79 write-in candidates in opposition, or 1.68 percent.

In uncontested Livingston County Commission district races, Ken Lauhoff, Democrat, received 2,681 votes (99.37 percent), versus 17 write-ins (0.63 percent) in the eastern district and Todd Rodenberg, Democrat, also handily won his re-election bid in the western district by a final count of 2,309 votes (98.89 percent) to 26 write-ins.

Sheriff Steve Cox, a Republican, received 98.57 percent of the vote (5,246) as he was unopposed to retain his position. There were 76 write-ins.

County Assessor Steve Ripley, Democrat, received 4,923 votes (99.17 percent) while unopposed for re-election. Forty-one write-in ballots were cast.

Democrat Martha Peery received 5,116 votes (or 99.4 percent) in her unopposed re-election bid for Collector-Treasurer. There were 31 write-ins (0.6 percent).

Democrat Scott Lindley will remain the Livingston County Coroner, getting 5,057 (99.06 percent) votes as he ran without opposition. There were 48 write-ins.

There were 222 write-in votes marked for the County Surveyor, for which there were no declared candidates from any party nor any officially-filed to seek write-in support. The county's election verification board will review and tabulate those votes with the person receiving the largest number technically winning election. It then would remain to be seen whether that person actually accepts the responsibilities.

In non-office voting yesterday, State Constitutional Amendment No. 3, revising the state supreme court and appellate court judge selection process, failed decidedly in Livingston County, 78.51 to 21.49 percent (4,347 votes against to 1,190 in favor).

Proposition A, dealing with control of the St. Louis City police department, was favored here, 62.21 to 37.79 percent (3,333 for, 2,025 against).

Proposition B, the cigarette tax increase for education, lost in the county, 56.25 to 43.75 percent (3,288 against, 2,557 in favor).

Proposition E, prohibiting health-care exchanges without approval by popular or legislative vote, was supported here by a 64.08 to 35.92 margin (3,466 to 1,943).

Missouri Supreme Court Justice George Draper III was seen fit by those in Livingston County to retain his position, getting 71.05 percent support (3,446-1,404).

Likewise, for the State Court of Appeals, current judges Cynthia Martin (3,470-1,369), Thomas Newton (3,401-1,394), and Gary Witt (3,437-1,398) each were supported for retention by Livingston County voters.