Missouri Sen. David Pearce has taken the oath of office and is now representing the district that includes Livingston County.

Pearce, a Republican, represents the 21st District. In addition to Livingston County, the district includes the counties of Caldwell, Carroll, Howard, Johnson, Lafayette, Ray and Saline.

Prior to redistricting, Livingston County was part of the 12th District, represented by Sen. Brad Lager.

The Constitution-Tribune will start publishing weekly columns written by Sen. Pearce. His first column appears on page 4 of today's C-T.