Chillicothe FFA members shared the spotlight at Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center last night (Thursday).

Chillicothe FFA members shared the spotlight at Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center last night (Thursday).
Despite wintery weather conditions, a large crowd was on hand for the organization's annual awards banquet. More than $27,310 in awards and scholarships were presented to members of ag education organization during their annual awards banquet last night (Thursday).
The evening's top awards - the Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarships - were awarded to recipients who show strong leadership potential in FFA, school and community activities, and who plan to continue his/her formal education. The Jerry Litton Memorial Family Foundation awarded $5,000 to Jordan Huddleston and $3,000 to Caela Ashford.
The Skipper family and friends presented Taylor Daly with the $500 Jackie Skipper Memorial FFA Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to those who show strong leadership potential in FFA, school, exhibiting livestock and community activities, and who plan to continue his/her formal education.
Carley Anderson was awarded the $500 Rusty and Karie Black Litton Award. Presented by The Litton Foundation, the recipient of this award has exhibited dedication to the Chillicothe FFA Chapter throughout their four years of membership.
Bridgett Kieffer was the recipient of the Senior Agribusiness Award. This $200 award and plaque, sponsored by Smith Farms, is given to a senior student enrolled in the Agribusiness placement program who is planning to further his/her education.
Chillicothe Animal Hospital, Dr. Ross and Dr. Link presented the Annual Agribusiness Awards. Recipients include McKenna Ashford, Colby Ruoff, Matt Dupy and Keara Hopper. The trophy and $75 cash award is based on leadership, participation, career development and FFA goals.
Bridget Kieffer, Sierra Midgett, Madi Condron, Lizzie McCoy, Bladke Rasmussen and Orren Beck were each awarded $300 scholarships by the Chillicothe FFA Chapter. These scholarships are given to senior FFA members who are planning to attend a college or vocational school majoring in agriculture. The recipients must have completed four units of Ag Education.
The $400 Wayne Boon Memorial Award was presented to Cyrsten Lollar. The award is given annually to a graduating senior, and is selected based upon the scope and quality of their production related SAE program for all years in Ag Education.
Given to students that keep livestock at the Litton Agriscience Learning Center as a component of their SAE project, Litton Livestock Awards were presented to Brandon Cook, Jozie Reeter, Bailey Henry and Colton Moore. Winners of this $75 award, sponsored by the Jerry Litton Memorial Family Foundation, are selected by their ability to care and manage their livestock, work ethic, responsibility and showing.
Honorary Chapter FFA Degrees were awarded to Jayme Caughron, DQ Precision Planting & Tillage, DeWayne McCauslin, LaRenda Lollar and Debbie Huddleston.
Chapter officers for the 2013-14 year were also introduced at Thursday's banquet. Elizabeth Warren will take over as Chapter President. Brandon Bothwell will assume the role of 1st Vice President. The Chillicothe chapter's new Secretary is Faith Peters. 2nd Vice Presidents include Ben Burtch, Matt Dupy, Lauren Haley, Bailey Henry, Carlee Johnson, Alicia Kieffer, Paige Peters, Zach Quinn, Hailey Seeley and Haelee Shady. Assistant officers include: Nate McKiddy, President; Emma Rademacher, Vice President; Marissa Surber, 2nd Vice President; Colton Hargrave, Secretary; Erin Campbell, Treasurer; Lane Bonderer, Reporter; Rebecca Pitchford, Sentinel; Zach Wood, Historian; Maggie Resor, Parliamentarian; and Helena McNamee, Chaplain.
A complete listing of all awards, along with more photographs, will be published at a later date in the Constitution-Tribune.