Class 2 action in 2018 Missouri state championships at Columbia will begin at 10 a.m.

begins this morning
C-T Sports Editor
Eight members of the Chillicothe High School Hornets are in Columbia Thursday for the 2018 Missouri State High School Activities Association Wrestling Championships at Mizzou Arena on the campus of the University of Missouri.
Representing CHS in action this year are four repeat qualifiers from 2017 – senior Kayde Burton (182-pounds division, junior Keegan Valdez (285), and sophomores Colten Sewell (126) and Isaac Washburn (170).
Making their first – and, in one case, last – trip to the Class 2 state tournament are senior Zack Boyles (120), junior Lavery Jones (132), sophomore Dawson Wheeler (152), and freshman Connor Keithley (113).
(Keep check this website and on sports editor Paul Sturm’s Twitter account @CTSportsPSturm for updated, on-site reports from Columbia through the late morning and afternoon Thursday.
Being the lightest, Keithley will be the first Hornet on the mat shortly after the 10 a.m. scheduled start of first-round bouts in both Class 1 and Class 2. Four mats are used simultaneously for each classification, so – given having entrants in four consecutive lighter weights – it is possible two Hornets could be involved in bouts at the same moment.
Thursday’s schedule has each qualifier in action at least once.
First-round winners are finished for the day, resuming action in the championship quarterfinals Friday morning.
First-round losers, however, go right back into competition after the first-round ends, having the first consolation – or “wrestleback” bout early this afternoon. Those winners advance to Friday consolation second-round bouts, while the losers are eliminated on the very first day.
Of CHS’ contingent – coached by Chad Smith, Michael Marriott, and Joey Rinehart, Burton and Sewell are defending medal-winners. Burton took third at 182 last year and is a threat to win the title this year. Sewell finished fourth at 106 pounds in 2017.
Of the newcomers, district runnersup Jones and Keithley figure to have the top medal prospects.