The University of Missouri Livingston County Extension Council had its annual meeting and dinner Thursday evening at First Baptist Church.

The University of Missouri Livingston County Extension Council had its annual meeting and dinner Thursday evening at First Baptist Church. Council Chairman Steve Radcliff introduced special guests and explained the purpose of the meeting. “Our annual meeting and dinner is an opportunity to recognize and express our thanks to those who have served on the council, to recognize those who continually support our program efforts, and to thank our community for their support of Extension,” Radcliff said. The newest addition to the Leaders Honor Roll of the Livingston County University Extension was announced. This year’s recipient is Sister Marilyn Lofgreen, who provided time and talents in supporting the local business office. She has since moved to Utah and was unable to attend Thursday’s event. Recipients of the Leaders Honor Roll of the University of Missouri are selected due to their work in helping develop and carry out local extension programs, according to Jessica Trussel, human development and family science specialist for the Livingston County University Extension. Also during the evening, three Livingston County farms received the formal designation of being Missouri Century Farms, meaning they have been in the same family for at least 100 years. Trussell presented Missouri Century Farm signs to Brett and Tessa Grozinger, Thorne Brothers, LLC, and Flentje Farms, LLC. “Missouri Century Farm recognizes families who have contributed to local, state, national and international agriculture by owning and operating the same Missouri farm for 100 years or more,” Trussell stated. “Livingston County had three Missouri Century Farms during 2016.” The Brett and Tessa Grozinger Farm was established in 1915. The original owner was Joseph E. Littrell, who was Brett’s great-great-grandfather on his mother’s side. Brett was unable to attend the evening’s event, and the sign was presented to his wife, Tessa, and son, Greg. The Thorne Brothers Farm, LLC, was established in 1907, with the original farm purchase made by S.E. Thorne, who was the great-grandfather of Ron Thorne, Pat Thorne and Sam Thorne. The original purchase was 40 acres. The Thorne brothers attended the evening’s event, along with Pat’s wife, Susan, and Sam’s wife, Susan. The farm is located in northeast Livingston County (northeast of Chula and south of the Grundy County line). The third Century Farm recognized Thursday evening was Flentje Farms LLC. Flentje Farms was established in 1913 by the original owner, Frank Flentje. Frank Flentje purchased 146 acres one mile south of Farmersville in Livingston County in the fall of 1913. In the spring of 1915, he moved his wife Elfa and their four children: Rudolph, Winston, Leah and Florence from Palmyra, Ill., to the new family farm. A few years later, Frank died from pneumonia, leaving Elfa a life estate in the farm. Upon her death at age 99, the four children assumed operational control of the land. Winston purchased Rudolph’s interest after Elfa died. During the early 1980s, Winston gifted his half interest to Laurence and William Flentje. Laurence and William purchased the sister’s interest in the years that followed. Today, Laurence and Maxine, William, J.W. and Linda Flentje are owners through Flentje Farms LLC. The Flentjes were unable to attend Thursday’s annual meeting. Since Missouri began the program in 1976, more than 8,000 century farms have been recognized. Also during Thursday’s meeting, Shaun Murphy, 4-H Youth specialist, gave special recognition to the Monty and Kerrie Campbell family as the 2016 State Fair Farm Family. The Campbells were among the 114 families honored during the Missouri State Fair’s Farm Family Day on Aug. 15, 2016 in Sedalia. The Campbell family was selected as the Livingston Missouri State Fair Farm Family by the Livingston County Extension Council and local Farm Bureau. The family includes Monty, Kerrie, Clayton, Lucas and Emerson Campbell. Each year, the fair sets aside a day to recognize the farm families from across the state who are active in their community, involved in agriculture and participate in local outreach and extension programs, such as 4-H and FFA. The Campbells operate a diversified farm near Chillicothe. The children are active in the Liberty 4-H Club and FFA. The Campbells are involved in the community, assisting with community events and volunteering. Retiring Extension Council members Chris Baker, Linda Dietzschold, Ken Lauhoff, Billy Peniston, Keith Rademacher, Tanya Stimpson, Adam Wolf and Brenda Wright were recognized for their years of service. New Extension Council members are Samantha Graves, Della Tracy and Alvin Thompson. Officers for the new year were elected and took the oath of office. They are: Chairman Steve Radcliff, Vice Chairman Brenda Kerr, Treasurer Jackie Woodworth and Secretary Bette Atwell. Livingston County Clerk Sherry Parks administered the oath of office. Elected Extension Council members are Morgan Cooper, Derek Groupman, Brenda Kerr, Jenny Moss, Andy Parks, and Steve Radcliff. Appointed council members are: Bette Atwell, representing the city of Chillicothe; Alvin Thompson, (Livingston County Commission); Jackie Woodworth (Farm Bureau); Amy Prokop (MFA); and Dan Murphy (Chula Farmers Cooperative). Kyle Hansen, a Chillicothe High School senior, gave a presentation about his participation in last week’s Legislative Academy. He was one of 15 Missouri 4-H Youth chosen to participate in the opportunity. Hansen is an accomplished 4-H member who has served in nearly all 4-H club officer positions, including president, and has led Livingston County 4-H’s 460-plus members as 4-H council president. During his visit to Jefferson City, he and the other 4-H attendees visited all three branches of government. They toured the state capital where they sat in on a House meeting and watched the Senate go through the process of a bill. They also toured the Supreme Court and talked to a judge and learned how judges interpret laws and how they make decisions. On the third day of the academy, the 4-H members visited with Lt. Gov. Mike Parsons and learned about his role in government. Hansen is currently a finalist for National 4-H Congress and one of eight finalists from the northwest Region competing for Regional Representative to the Missouri State 4-H Council. Sponsors for the Extension Council’s annual meeting were Bank Midwest, BTC Bank, Chillicothe State Bank, Chula Farmers Co-Op, Citizens Bank & Trust, Farm Credit Services, FEC Companies, Investors Community Bank, Woodworth Farms. Door prize sponsors were Sensenich Jeweler, Hedrick Medical Center, Jenny Moss and Amy Prokop. The meal was catered by The Sliced Bread Market.