Chillicothe's mayor, council members and other elected officials were sworn into office Wednesday.

It was standing room only in the Chillicothe City Council Chambers on Wednesday for the sine die meeting of the 105th Chillicothe City Council and swearing in of the new mayor, city council and other city officials.

The last meeting of the 105th Chillicothe County Council marked the last lead by then-Mayor Reep Dupy. After being presented a plaque from City Administrator Darin Chappell, Dupy thanked the council for their hard work.

“I thank each of you for your hard work and dedication to this city and its government,” he said. “I know going forward this city is in good hands, there is good leadership.”

During their meeting, former mayor Chuck Haney and former councilmen Tom Douglas and Paul Howard were honored.

“I have never seen or heard of a city government who suffered so much loss in such a short time” City Administrator Darin Chappell said.

Chuck Haney, also called “Mr. Chillicothe” served as councilman-at-large from 2001-2005 and served as mayor from 2007 until his death in 2018. Chappell described him as a jewel for the community.

“I know we all miss him and his vibrant support for the community of Chillicothe.”

Former Third Ward Councilman Tom Douglas spent 20 years representing constituents.

“He was dedicated to all of the departments of the city - but especially the fire department,” Chappell said. “He was a man who put his city and his constituents first, even before his own beliefs, the people came first.”

Paul Howard served as Fourth Ward Councilman from 2009-2011 and 2013-2019 when his health forced him to resign.

“Paul was dedicated to this community and the citizens as a whole,” Chappell said. “He was a dedicated public servant.”

Before a moment of silence, Chappell noted that the three men served with determination and dedication despite their physical health.

“These three men worked harder at being a part of this city government then anyone will ever really know,” he said.

Chappell then praised the city council and employees for remaining steadfast in their passion and work for the city, when faced with the grief of losing their friends, fellow council members and leaders.

“They all stood strong in the midst of sadness and grief and all remained dedicated to the service of this city,”

Following a presentation of the award to Dupy, Councilman-At-Large Tom Ashbrook made the motion for the council meeting to adjourn.

New officers sworn into office

City Clerk Roze Frampton began the swearing in ceremony by presenting Theresa Kelly with a plaque for her 25 years of service to the city as auditor.

“Theresa is a great friend and an outstanding city auditor and leader,” Frampton said.

Kelly, who was elected mayor during the April 2 election,then stood with her husband Jack and placed her hand on a Bible to be sworn in as Chillicothe's new mayor.

“It is an honor and privilege to serve the City of Chillicothe,” Kelly said after being sworn in. “I do promise to serve the people of Chillicothe to be best of my ability and address their needs and wants as best a I - and the city council can.”

Frampton then swore in new City Auditor Hannah Fletcher; City Constable Jon Maples; First Ward Councilman Denny Albertson, Fourth Ward Councilwoman Pam Jarding; the new Third Ward Councilman Michael Brown. Second Ward Councilman Wayne Cunningham and Councilman-at-Large Tom Ashbrook were sworn in together. Frampton chose to have Fletcher, the new auditor, perform her swearing in as the city clerk, a position has has held since 1999.

The next City Council meeting with the new mayor and council will take place at 6:30 p.m., on April 22 at City Hall.