The MU Extension Office in Caldwell County is now open! The office is located at 97 South

Harrison, in Kingston, Missouri. Office hours are from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. The office can be reached by phone at 816-586-1010.

Our office will be holding an Open House on July 25 at the new office location, 97 S Harrison in Kingston, from 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. Everyone is invited to attend. Extension specialists will be

present throughout the day to chat and answer any questions. There will also be refreshments and prizes!

Some of the services available through the office include soil testing, plant testing and Certified

Private Pesticide Applicators training. Soil testing can be a tremendous benefit to landowners. The soil test preformed at the MU Soil

Laboratory can determine the soil pH, nutrient levels, organic matter content and can provide fertilizer and lime recommendations based on your specific needs. This can increase the productivity of the soil and increase fertilizer use efficiency.

The Private Pesticide Applicator Program trains farmers and landowners who produce an agricultural commodity on the safe and proper use of pesticides. The Caldwell County Extension

The office provides the training video for the Pesticide Applicator certification. This certification is necessary to purchase restricted use pesticides.

With the new office, comes new employees. Carlee Johnson is the agriculture business and community economic development county engagement specialist for Caldwell County. She was raised on a farm in Grundy County and exhibited swine and dairy cattle through 4-H and FFA. Johnson is a 2019 MU Graduate with a Master’s Degree in Agricultural Communications. Jennifer Segar is the office manager for the Caldwell County office. Segar is a longtime member of the Kingston community. She and her family are very involved in the community and look forward to being involved in 4-H. Debbie Davis will continue as the 4-H youth specialist along with Steven Steiner, 4-H youth program associate.

The hard work and dedication of the council towards opening the office is greatly appreciated. Members of the elected council include Jerry Cook, Jesse Pratt, Joni Loxterman, Cheryl Corbin, Stephen Reed, Joe Clevenger, Dennis Walker, Dale Akey, Susan Anderson and Ruth Ann Swindler. Special thanks to the Caldwell County Commissioners Bud Motsinger, Rex Hibler and Jonathan Abbott for their continued support.

Our distinct land-grant mission is to improve lives, communities and economies by producing relevant, reliable and responsive educational strategies that enhance access to the resources and research of the University of Missouri. We invite residents to seek out the helpful, research- based information from Extension.

Carlee Johnson is a County Engagement Specialist in Agriculture and Environment for the University of Missouri Extension.