Hamilton has four, Marceline five in Class 1, Trenton one in Class 2

By PAUL STURM, C-T Sports Editor
Ten players from three of the six 11-man high school football programs outside of Chillicothe covered by the C-T have been named to the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association’s 2017 All-State teams.
The association’s honor – by many years, the oldest such selection in the state – has gone to four Hamilton Hornets and five Marceline Tigers in Class 1 and one Trenton Bulldog in Class 2.
Chosen first-team have been all-purpose back LaTroy Harper, linebacker Kenny Pulley, and offensive lineman Tyler Trosper of Hamilton, and running back Rylan Chrisman and offensive lineman Nathan Sayre of Marceline.
Gaining second-team nods are Hamilton defensive lineman Garrett Trosper, Trenton defensive lineman Mason Owen, and Marceline wide receiver Levi Terrell, defensive lineman Trevor Ganaway, and placekicker Cullen Bruner.
All are seniors except juniors T. Trosper and Sayre and sophomore Bruner.
Of the 10, Harper and Pulley are repeat top-team picks. G. Trosper was first-team on defense for last year’s state-champion Hornets with his younger brother second-team on the defensive side.
Harper is a third-time All-State choice by the MSSA, having been picked at wide receiver as a sophomore and junior.
All 10 area honorees’ statistical performances in 2017 were recapped in the story in the Dec. 8 edition of the C-T when they, among others, were included on the Missouri Football Coaches Association’s 3-deep All-State teams. Harper also was named the MFCA’s Class 1 offensive player of the year for a second-consecutive year.
The C-T area had 11 players selected All-State by the MSSA a year ago.