Senior Kortlyn Rounkles, sophomore Mack Anderson helped carry SLHS teams to league titles sweep

By PAUL STURM, C-T Sports Editor
A second such selection for one Southwest Livingston High School basketball standout and the first of potentially-multiple such kudos for another headlined Monday’s announcement of the 2017-18 Carroll-Livingston Activity Association all-conference basketball teams.
Chosen as most valuable players for the just-finished season were senior guard Kortlyn Rounkles and sophomore forward Mack Anderson of SLHS’ regular-season champion squads. The full list of all-CLAA basketball selections appears at the end of this article.
For Rounkles, it is the second time her play in a season has been recognized as unsurpassed among CLAA talents.
As a freshman, she and teammate/classmate Kaylie Campbell were voted co-MVPs. According to sources, the following year league coaches opted to require a coach with multiple candidates for most valuable player consideration to make a choice between them and Campbell ended up with the nod, even though SLHS coach Julie Bothwell reported she’d have preferred the duo again be co-recipients.
Madison Brown of Norborne copped the girls’ honor a year ago as she helped lead NHS’ Lady Pirates to the conference titles when both Campbell and Rounkles were sidelined for a portion of the season.
This year, averaging virtually 28 points per game and passing the rarely-reached plateau of 2,000 career points, Rounkles is a solo MVP.
Anderson now is in position to potentially join his two schoolmates as a multi-times CLAA MVP after copping the honor as a 10th grader.
Statistics for his season listed online show he did so by averaging a scoring-rebounding double-double of 21.6 points and 14 boards as the Wildcats, regular-season league champs and district runnersup, went 21-5.
With Rounkles and Anderson atop their respective gender’s list of first-team all-CLAA picks for 2017-18, those 10-players lists include a teammate of each MVP, as well as three Norborne girls, two members each of Mendon: Northwestern’s conference tournament-champion boys, Brunswick’s boys, and Keytes-ville’s boys, and one apiece from Hale/Bosworth’s girls and boys, Tina-Avalon’s girls, Northwestern’s girls, Norborne’s boys, Hardin-Central’s girls, and Keytesville’s boys.
Highlighting the lists of first-team choices are the two former girls’ MVPs – Campbell of Southwest Livingston and Brown of Norborne – Campbell as a fourth-time selection and Brown for the third year in a row.
Chosen all-CLAA first-team for a second-consecutive season, in addition to the MVPs and ex-MVPs, were sophomore Kennadie Crowe of Norborne, juniors Wade Adams and Kelsie Speichinger of Mendon: Northwestern, and sophomore Evan Craig of Keytesville’s boys.
While a repeater, Crowe last year was honored for her play at Tina-Avalon before transferring prior to the 2017-18 year.
The all-CLAA girls’ first team has a handful of players so honored for the first time, while the boys’ list is dominated by cagers never before selected there.
The boys’ first-time first-teamers are Southwest Livingston junior Wyatt Maddux, Hale/Bosworth sophomore Colton Harris, Adams’ Northwestern teammate and classmate Jaden Humphrey, Norborne senior Christian Coats, Brunswick seniors Reece Winn and A.J. Worley, and Craig’s fellow KHS Tiger, senior Tyler McKinstry.
The girls’ half-and-half first-team roster welcomes newcomers Hannah Colliver of Tina-Avalon, Bailey Stephens of Hale/
Bosworth, Julia Finley of Hardin-Central, Mylie Schupback of Keytesville, and Olivia Dooley of Norborne. Finley and Schupback are seniors, Colliver and Stephens juniors, and O. Dooley a freshman.
The CLAA’s all-defensive teams, as also chosen by league coaches, have two holdovers on the 5-man boys’ group, but none on the girls’ side.
The repeat defensive picks are Southwest Livingston’s mobile, 6’5’” Anderson, who averaged four shot blocks and three steals per game, and Keytesville’s Ryan Enyeart, who averaged nearly three steals.
The other three boys’ choices – all seniors, like Enyeart, were Peyton Hein of Southwest Livingston, Cole Smith of Northwestern, and Brunswick’s Winn.
The girls’ defensive group is evenly split between seniors and underclasswomen. Like Campbell, first-teamer Schupback also was lauded for her defense, as were senior Aleeya Heussner of Tina-Avalon, sophomores Georg-anne Zahner of Northwestern and Izabella Anderson of Hardin-Central, and freshman Kayla Dooley of Norborne.
Rounkles’ MVP season saw her also cop that honor for the league tournament, in which her play helped the Lady Wildcats, who later added a third district title and state-tournament appearance during her career, complete an undefeated run through conference play in 2017-18.
In addition to her 27.9 points per game scoring average – the 726 points she scored as a senior pushed her aggregate career total to 2,071, she averaged 4.2 assists, 3.9 steals, and 4.5 rebounds a night, according to statistics supplied by Bothwell.
She seems a near-certainty to be selected all-district by the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association in its upcoming deliberations and likely to named All-State a second time by the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association. She also was All-State as a sophomore.
Anderson, whose size, skills, and mobility at such a young age has mad him a rarity in the Class 1 ranks, also figures to be both a repeat all-district shoo-in and a strong MBCA All-State candidate after not only averaging the aforementioned points/
rebounds double-double, blocks, and steals numbers this season, but also three assists a contest while shooting at a 56 percent overall clip – all while averaging barely over one foul committed per game.

2017-18 CLAA All-Conference Basketball Teams
First Team
Kortlyn Rounkles (MVP), sr., Southwest Livingston
Kennadie Crowe, soph.,  Norborne
Kaylie Campbell, sr., Southwest Livingston
Madison Brown, sr.,  Norborne
Julia Finley, sr.,     Hardin-Central
Bailey Stephens, jr.,     Hale/Bosworth
Hannah Colliver, jr.,     Tina-Avalon
Olivia Dooley, fr., Norborne
Mylie Schupback, sr., Keytesville
Kelsie Speichinger, jr., Mendon: Northwestern
Second Team
Carly Thacker, soph., Hardin-Central
Hayes Heussner, jr., Hale/Bosworth
Kayla Dooley, fr., Norborne
Abby Dobbins, soph., Brunswick
Haley Rucker, fr., Tina-Avalon
Colee Webb, sr., SW Livingston
Honorable Mention
Georganne Zahner, soph., Mendon: Northwestern
Kaylie Campbell, sr., SW Livingston
Kayla Dooley, fr., Norborne
Aleeya Heussner, sr., Tina-Avalon
Izabella Anderson, soph., Hardin-Central
Mylie Schupback, sr., Keytesville
Georganne Zahner, soph., Mendon: Northwestern

First Team
Mack Anderson (MVP), soph., Southwest Livingston
Wade Adams, jr.,  Mendon: Northwestern
Reece Winn, sr., Brunswick
Jaden Humphrey, jr., Mendon: Northwestern
Evan Craig, soph., Keytesville
Wyatt Maddux, jr., Southwest Livingston
Christian Coats, sr., Norborne
Colton Harris, soph., Hale/Bosworth
A.J. Worley, sr., Brunswick
Tyler McKinstry, sr., Keytesville
Second Team
Zach Pearon, sr., Hardin-Central
Chandler Colliver, sr., Tina-Avalon
Ryan Fisher, soph., Mendon: Northwestern
Peyton Hein, sr., SW Livingston
Ty Berger, soph., Hale/Bosworth
Honorable Mention
Jaeden Sears, fr., Hale/Bosworth
Ryan Enyeart, sr., Keytesville
Mack Anderson, soph., SW Livingston
Peyton Hein, sr., SW Livingston
Reece Winn, sr., Brunswick
Cole Smith, sr., Mendon: Northwestern