Missouri Basketball Coaches Association's Class 3 District 14 squad includes Chillicothe's Pfaff, Keithley, Hibner, Brandsgaard

By PAUL STURM, C-T Sports Editor

Four Chillicothe High School senior basketball standouts are among the 37players from teams in the C-T coverage area recently selected for inclusion on Missouri Basketball Coaches Association (MBCA) 2019-20 season all-district teams.
Rather than fixed regional assignments which remain constant year to year, the MBCA utilizes the annual school assignments by the Missouri State High School Activities Association for district tournament play as the groupings for 16 all-district squads for each gender in each of MSHSAA’s five competition classifications.
Coaches from the schools assigned to a particular district tournament gather near or after the end of those tournaments to consider players from the teams involved in that tourney for all-district status. Players’ performances from throughout the season, not just during the district tourney, are evaluated for possible inclusion.
Pre-selected representatives from each of the MBCA’s eight regions will meet the weekend of March 21-22 to select the association’s All-State teams from those players included on the various all-district teams.
CHS players voted to the Class 3 all-District 14 squads are Westley Brandsgaard, Jordan Hibner, Hunter Keithley, and C.J. Pfaff.
Keithley of the district-champion Lady Hornets was the girls’ top vote-getter, ahead of Trenton’s Maci Moore. Hibner was fourth behind Brookfield’s Cassi Conard.
Brandsgaard and Pfaff from the runnerup Hornets were the second- and third-place finishers among the boys behind Dionte Marquez of boys’ team champion Richmond.
In Class 1, area boys’ players on the all-District 13 team – from among the schools which competed at Norborne – include Southwest Livingston’s Mack Anderson and Chase Neptune, Tina-Avalon’s Connor Jenkins, Dennis Kimberling of Braymer, and Kole Larkins of Norborne.
On the girls’ side, selected in District 13 were Jasmine Taylor and Taylor Francis of runnerup Braymer, Kennadie and Regan Crowe and Olivia and Kayla Dooley of champion Norborne, and Carly Thacker of Hardin-Central.
From Class 1 District 12, whose tournament was hosted by Meadville, boys’ tabbed  Dominik and Trey Gannan, Parker Burton, and Conner Fletcher of champion Meadville, Ty Berger of Hale/Bosworth, Michael O’Kane of Linn County, and Amari Glasgow and Kobe Tatum of Brunswick.
Girls’ all-District 13 choices from area squads were Kiera Holcer and Krysta Meyers of Meadville, Georgeanne Zahner of Mendon: Northwestern, Jenna Hoerrman of Linn County, and Abby Dobbins of Brunswick.
In Class 1 District 10, to which Keytesville was assigned, one Tiger was chosen – Austin McKinstry.
In Class 1 District 14, Jamesoprt: Tri-County’s Bailee Hoover was chosen.
In Class 2, the all-District 15 girls’ team included Hamilton: Penney’s Nora Ford and Graycen Prothero and Polo’s Mary Copeland and Kelly Baldon. The boys’ squad included Ryan Cook of Hamilton and Joseph Beaver of Polo.